DAY 2 – How Do You Think About Food?

Friends-
Freedom is Possible isn’t it?
You have begun your journey and now you are on your way!  Here, in Day 2  you will be taking your First Step:  Wise Thinking
 
Congratulations!
You are about to take the first step on your exciting journey toward freedom and healing. Imagine how you will feel when you arrive. Worries about food and your weight are now relics of your past. What a relief! If you put The Five Steps into practice, I promise you that feeling of freedom will be your everyday experience.

The First Step: Wise Thinking is my all time favorite because it was the piece of the puzzle that I had been missing for thirty-five years. If you truly want to heal your food and weight issues, Wise Thinking is the opportunity you’ve been waiting for. If you don’t address it, chances are you’ll keep yo-yoing and never heal permanently.

To fully embrace it means creating an entirely new, healthy mental relationship with food. Fasten your seatbelt and get ready to heal!

In this chapter you’ll learn how to think differently about food and, hopefully, think very little about it, if at all, when it’s not time to eat. You’ll do this by busting through your food illusion and coming to see the truth, the whole picture about food.

Once you see the truth, there’s no going back. You’ll learn helpful strategies to stop wearing a path to the fridge, such as recognizing when the Pleasure Seeking Child is on the scene and learning to ignore her, speaking and living from your heart, connecting with a life purpose that feels engaging and fulfilling, feeding your soul rather than overfilling your stomach, and implementing kung fu for cravings and emotional eating. Without further ado, let’s begin!

 ******

Your 5 Minutes a Day Exercise

DAY 2 – How Do You Think About Food?

How do you think about food? How often do you think about it? When do you think about it? Do you think more about food when you’re tired, bored, sad, lonely, or under stress?

What does food mean to you beyond nutrition and fuel? What is your relationship to it? Do you see food as your friend, your lover, your companion, your main source of pleasure and comfort?
Write out your response on separate paper.  (Will write in the comments section)

Take a moment to answer these questions and live with them for the next few days. As you do this, record your discoveries about your mental relationship with food.

Now let’s move on to your Food Awareness Journal. As you go about your day, set the intention to become aware of your food thoughts and the situations that trigger them. What is happening when the idea of eating arises and you’re not physically hungry.

To permanently heal your eating issues and stop struggling with your weight you have to change your relationship to food by changing how you think about it. In order to do this, you first have to become aware of your thoughts about it and the situations that trigger those thoughts.

                 Food Awareness Journal (Five Minutes)

Time

Food Thought

Eating Trigger

 

One thought on “DAY 2 – How Do You Think About Food?

  1. How do you think about food?
    I think of food as means to fuel my body. I am not an emotional eater, in fact I do the opposite, I stop eating when I am stressed or sad. Although, in some rare occasions I do seek comfort food such as bread or any “bread” type food (i.e., croissants, bagels, tortillas, etc.)

    How often do you think about it?

    About food? Constantly 🙂 If I don’t think about eating and preparing my meals a head of time I simply don’t eat and then when I eat I grab something fast like a cheese tortilla (basically a corn tortilla with some cheddar cheese) or a protein bar. Certainly, not a balanced meal.
    This is why I need to make sure I plan my meals, if not in writing then in my head.

    When do you think about it?
    Morning, afternoon and evening, at least I try to.

    Do you think more about food when you’re tired, bored, sad, lonely, or under stress?
    No, when I am in those situations I don’t think about food at all. Thinking about eating repulses me.

    What does food mean to you beyond nutrition and fuel?
    A source of pleasure and sometimes it is a form of punishment.

    What is your relationship to it? Do you see food as your friend, your lover, your companion, your main source of pleasure and comfort?
    I suppose I see it as a much-needed friend but at times I do see it as my enemy.
    I guess you can say food is my frenemy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

