Nov 22nd — Never Miss Leg Day Tuesday

img_1292Today was leg day and I wasn’t looking forward to going because my thighs are still very sore.
I haven’t told you I have an accountability partner (AP) who is making me stick to my workouts no matter what. He want’s to help me succeed and while he is far away he can still help me.

I am mentioning my AP because he was expecting me to go and work out today and…………………
…………..
I really really really didn’t want to work out but I knew I had to find a valid excuse backed by medical science.
Surely, I could google an article that would say

“You can take the day off when your muscles are sore.”

Well, not only did I not find such article but also my AP was not impressed with me trying to convince him that I needed a day off. He clearly told me that it didn’t matter what I showed him and I will still go and workout. That wasn’t all he added that if I didn’t go he would be very disappointed in me.

Sigh

4 pm came and off I went. Crying, Ok I wasn’t really crying, but I was dreading the pain that I was to endure. I didn’t want to feel that kind of pain.  I was tired — my body was tired.

Deep breaths

Obviously, I survived. I didn’t die but this workout tested my resolve. The running warm-up almost did me in and the circuit training was hard. I couldn’t help but to feel deflated that I couldn’t do the exercises as I normally could.

Through the workout, I fought my way through the negative thoughts and focused on the fact that I was here. That I was burning calories and that in the long run it was going to help me even if I didn’t work to my full capacity.

In the end, I was full of endorphins and I felt very good.
And thanks to my AP, I was glad I went.

Leave a Reply

